livinginthesilvercity.blogg.se

En blogg om och av mig :)

Sweden and Scotland

Publicerad 2013-02-02 21:36:26 i Allmänt,

The people

The people in Scotland are very friendly at least those here in Aberdeen. If you need help people seem to be willing to help. I don’t know whether people are more helpful here than back home since we swedes don’t tend to ask for help unless we absolutely have to and it is then mostly when we’re on vacation anyway.

The Uni

Based upon what a friend of me has said that now goes to uni in Sweden after having done IB as well, I would say that Uni in Sweden seems a lot easier. She says its much easier than the IB. But since I’ve never gone to Uni in Sweden I really have no idea. Other people has said that Uni is harder than upper secondary school so I guess its individual. The contact with staff works great here. One can always talk to lecturers or email them. Big difference though, here it is best to write dear Dr or Professor as some of them are pretty picky about their titles and you’d better not refer to a Professor as a doctor. I don’t know about the Uni back home. But in school we didn’t have to refer to teachers as Mr and Mrs or Miss which the students here had to do all the time throughout school.

The weather

The weather here is quite similar. It rains quite a bit but not as bad as expected perhaps. But it is slightly colder here or at least the cold feels different perhaps due to the close proximity to the sea. That’s just a theory since it is always windier close to the ocean.

 Party life

According to the more experienced partyiers the party life here is pretty good. I’m really not in a position to comment but at least I know that the drinks are cheaper here than back home so I guess that’s good. There are some preally nice bars and pubs, I don’t really like going to clubs since I’ve got two left feet and the music is too loud.

Living costs

Rents for apartments are pretty high but apparently Aberdeen is one of the most expensive cities in Scotland. This might be due to the oil I really don’t know. The costs for food seems to be perhaps slightly cheaper than in Sweden but I haven’t really checked as I’m catered this year so I don’t buy that much proper healthy food.

So yeah that is not really a comparison I guess, its more of a random rant. But that’ll have to do for now. 

Kommentarer

Postat av: svealinnea

Publicerad 2013-02-04 02:39:33

Tack så mkt elin! Jag trodde lätt ni hade mer regn o alltid sa mrs o mr till lärarna. Haha jag hoppas lätt högskolan i sverige är lättare :D

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Elin

Välkommen hit! Feel free to explore och lämna gärna en kommentar eller två :)

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela